Web Socket Retrieving Incorrect Data

I received a Tempest Weather Station for Father’s Day last year. However, I’m a designer and I’m unhappy with the appearance of the data display in the app. I wanted to give it some slick dials and nice typography and throw it in a web app wrapper on an older iPad I use as a display. Today I built a simple working prototype using the REST API and it works fine. However, I wasn’t happy with the update interval for wind speed. Then I learned about websockets, which I’ve never used before.

I built out a fairly simple example just displaying the air temp and RH. Didn’t even get into the rapid wind stuff yet. However, it’s outputting the wrong values. I fussed with it for hours, checked against repositories on Github and pulled their scripts that connect to websockets and parse their data to compare against. I could not find the issue. Even ChatGPT 4 seemed stumped. It’s like it’s pulling from a different station entirely? But it returns my accurate station ID. I wasn’t sure if it was returning some kind of test data because I was doing something wrong, so I tried changing my ID and tried changing my key. Either change seemed to halt the connection from feeding data, so it seemed like those were both fine, especially since they work with the REST API.

So I lurked around these forums, and found a user who posted a supposedly working example for a magic mirror project. I plugged in my key and station ID, and it was returning the same incorrect values: 56F and 88% humidity. It also displays the time as 5:38pm, and this value never changes. I checked the code and it’s correctly pulling from index 7 and 8 for air temp and RH, respectively.

Here is what the REST API returns with my personal info REDACTED: