Unable to update wfpiconsole - permissions issue

I have been running wfpiconsole on a rpi 3 for a few years. In the past in order to update the console I ran:

sudo wfpiconsole update

However, now when I run it, I get the following error:

Screenshot 2023-12-19 073806

If I run it without “sudo” then I get “permission” denied as seen above.

This seems like an OS thing and maybe not a wfpiconsole issue but I’m not sure where to start as I’m not sure what changed.

Ref info:
Pi 3 (Buster)
wfpiconsole version installed: v23.3.1

Mine is also running the Buster operating system. . .and ‘wfpiconsole’ v23.3.1. I have purposefully elected NOT to upgrade the operating system or the console version to v23.11.1. Why not? Because my console has been running very smoothly on Buster and v23.3.1 for a Long time. “If it works. . .don’t mess with it!” I’ve seen too many reports like yours above to where the upgrade causes rather severe issues. I’m perfectly content and satisfied leaving my ‘wfpiconsole’ as is. . .because it works Just Fine.

I agree and don’t have a need to update it except that it dims my display and has the “update” notification in the corner to which I have to touch the display at least once a day to remove it. Do you know if the “update” notification can be disabled?

I like that “dimmed” disply a midnight each day because it’s kinda like a screen saver. Since I don’t speak Unix / Linux OR Python as a second language. . . I know of cronjobs to make the display totally blank out at midnight. . .then wake up at 8am. . .but I don’t know how or where to insert such a cronjob. The “dim-down” with the “Update Available” fills that void for me!