SKY and AIR on a boat

Hello all.

I am/was a field tester for Weatherflow and have long thought that a marinized version of both SKY and AIr would be a natural fit on a boat.

There are a couple of issues, especially the SKY’s need to be oriented to the north, that would be dealt with though the maths is relatively simple knowing the boat’s bearing and SOG.

I am no programmer though I dabble. I do, however, own two masts on one boat and a SKY/AIR/hub system that I would like to modify for a sailboat.

Would anyone be interested in working with me to create an app that would allow the smart weather stations to function on a moving sailboat?

Cheers,
Mo

Mo,

I already have plans for this exact application. I am definitely interested.

PM me for details.
–Sam

2 Likes

if you have a GPS on the boat with serial output then you can use the data from that ( I already do that in a program I developed which works with WF, but would need to be changed to get the weather data from WF and not the GPS)

1 Like

FYI – the WeatherFlow Wind & Weather meter app already allows for use of the WEATHERmeter on a moving sailboat and calculates apparent wind using GPS vectors. While the WEATHERmeter is not designed to affix permanently and record observations continuously…it works quite well for distinct observations on a boat. WeatherFlow has been working with a sailing syndicate in Australia to modify the WEATHERmeter and associated software for mast-top mounted use. Nothing has come out of the collaboration yet.